Marine Industry Awards 2016 recognising Excellence

Marine Industry Awards 2016 WinnersThe second annual Marine Industry awards hosted last night, Thursday 30th June, at the Radisson Blu Galway announced Dr Dave Jackson of the Marine Institute as the Marine Industry Leader 2016.

The Marine Institute was proud to sponsor four prestigious awards at last nights cermony which included the Excellence in Marine Technology Award, awarded to Seagull Buoys – JFC Manufacturing; the Excellence in Marine Education and Training Award, awarded to the Strategic Marine Alliance for Research and Training (SMART); the Excellence in Marine Research Award, awarded to the Coastal/Ocean Observing System, NUIG; and the Excellence in the Provision of Professional Services to the Marine Industry, sponsored by the Irish Maritime Development Office, awarded to GAC Training and Service Solutions.

Minister Creed and Dr Peter Heffernan commended all the awardees on their success.

Dr Peter Heffernan, CEO Marine Institute, congratulated Dr Jackson on his award saying, "This award is a tremendous recognition of the significant role Dave has played in the development of the aquaculture industry both in Ireland and on an international level".

He further added "I would like to personally acknowledge this achievement as a reflection of his career spanning over 30 years, dedicated to the advancement and expansion of the aquaculture industry".

The event was hosted by the entertaining Colm O'Regan, with 19 prestigious trophies presented to the very best leaders and organisations operating across Ireland's marine industry.

The Marine Industry Awards provides a voice for the individuals and companies that play a significant role in the growth and development of the industry in Ireland while recognising the key functions within the industry that promote growth and sustainability including manufacturing, port operations, logistics & commercial excellence to innovation, tourism & leisure, sustainability, aquaculture, education as well as many others.

For a list of last nights winners click here.